Can a resident of Florida apply for a wedding license by mail?
Yes you can now apply for a wedding license by mail – just remember that we still need the 3 day waiting period to be observed prior to your wedding day.
What documents do we need to obtain a wedding license by Mail
The documents needed are - drivers license for US/Domestic Couples and passport photo page for overseas couples
How do we pay for the wedding license?
We offer a secure credit card payment system through Merchant Solutions. We DO NOT hold any credit card information on our server/email system.
Do I take the marriage license with me the day of ceremony?
yes, you should take your marriage license with you on your wedding day and give it to the person marrying you along with any additional payment for any extra copies you would like.
They are then responsible to return it to the courthouse for recording.
Does my license cover the whole State of Florida?
Yes! your license is valid for the whole State of Florida.
How do we get copies of my marriage license?
Should you wish to have additional certified copies of their Marriage Certificate, they are $3.00 per copy; this money should be given to the Notary or Minister on your wedding day (cash). The Notary or Minister will enclose the payment with the marriage license in the provided envelope, which he/she will return to the courthouse for recording.
How far out can we apply for a marriage license?
You can apply up to 6 months from your wedding for a wedding license. Even though the license is only valid for 60 days, we take this into account when processing your application, so that when the final issue date is put on your license, it covers your wedding day and a couple of extra days.
How long does this process take?
Once you have your payment, application form and photo ID (drivers licenses US, Passport Photo Non US), you should receive your documents back in about 5 days via e mail. Should you able to complete the steps in a timely manner - the process can be completed within 3 - 5 weeks. What we find takes the longest is getting everything notarized.
How long is the Marriage License Valid?
Marriage Licenses are valid for 60 days. We try to have your license issued about 50 days before your wedding, so that it expires a couple of days after your wedding, so that should you have to change the date, it does not cause a problem for you.
How old to we have to be to apply for a wedding license by mail?
You have to be 18 years and old to apply for a marriage license by mail
I live overseas, can I still do a license by mail?
Yes!, you can do a license by mail. This will save you time when you arrive and give you more time to do the things you have come to Florida to do!
I was previously married, do you need copies of my decree absolute papers?
We do not require to see copies of your decree absolutes, however you will be asked to put the date your last marriage ended and the reason on the application form.
If we want our completed license to be sent to us or our coordinator by delivery Service can this be done?
Yes, we can send completed documents via Fed Ex, you can make this payment on line.
If we want someone from out of State to marry us, is this possible?
Here is the statute that governs this issue:
A minister does not have to register his name with the State of Florida to perform a ceremony in this state. He does have to be ordained as set forth below
741.07 Persons authorized to solemnize matrimony.
(1) All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel or elders in communion with some church, or other ordained clergy, and all judicial officers, including retired judicial officers, clerks of the circuit courts, and notaries public of this state may solemnize the rights of matrimonial contract, under the regulations prescribed by law. Nothing in this section shall make invalid a marriage which was solemnized by any member of the clergy, or as otherwise provided by law prior to July 1, 1978.
(2) Any marriage which may be had and solemnized among the people called "Quakers," or "Friends," in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies, according to their rites and ceremonies, shall be good and valid in law; and wherever the words "minister" and "elder" are used in this chapter, they shall be held to include all of the persons connected with the Society of Friends, or Quakers, who perform or have charge of the marriage ceremony according to their rites and ceremonies.
Once the Marriage License has been issued, and we have received it what happens next?
The Marriage license should to be given to the Notary or Minister on your wedding day. The Notary or Minister will then be responsible for mailing the Marriage license back to the courthouse to have it recorded. This will become the official Marriage Certificate. This process can take between 4 – 6 weeks and will be mailed back to you.
What is included in the cost of your service?
The cost included in our service is the application fee that you would normally pay at the courthouse and our administration to process everything for you. They do not include any additional fees that you may have to pay to a notary for notarizing your documents.
We are a same sex couple, can we get married in Florida?
Absolutely. As of january 6th 2015 same sex marriages licences are now legally recognised in florida.
We live in different States, will this be problem?
You can still do your license by mail, as long as you are able to be together for the notarizing of the documents. If this, is not possible then the license by mail would not work for you and you should arrange to attend a local courthouse here in Florida.
What about wedding licenses issued for over holiday periods?
Applications may take longer to be processed over holiday times, you should allow for any holidays when making an application.
Once the wedding takes place where does it need to be sent for recording?
We send you an enclosed pre-stamped envelope for your officiant to use to return it to the courthouse for recording with the State
What is the average cost of a wedding license?
The average cost is from $86 to $103
Where can I get my license notorized?
For US couples: UPS, Banks, Staples and Office Depot
Overseas couples: Anyone with a notary stamp
Where will the license be sent to, after it is complete?
We do ask that you let us know when returning your documents to us, who and where the license should be sent. If you do not do this, we will automatically send it to the address that paid the payment.
Which county issues the license?
We work directly with Lake County Courthouse
Pricing depends on when your initial application is made in relation to your wedding date